About Us

Welcome to Pack 191:

Cub Scout Pack 191 provides traditional scouting for the Antioch, Lake Villa, and Lindenhurst area primarily recruiting Scouts from District 34 as well as surrounding areas such as the Grass Lake School District.  We are one of the largest packs in Lake County with over 100 registered scouts who meet regularly with their ‘Dens’ during the school year; although there are year round activities to keep the boys busy such as ‘Fun with Son’ camping, regular family hikes and picnics as well as fishing derbies and parades to name a few.  Families are encouraged to participate but it is not required to attend all events. 

The Pack:

The Pack consists of all of the dens and their families. The pack serves as the parent organization for the dens and provides direction, program support, leader training, and maintenance of the budget. The pack is led by the Pack Committee Chair and the Cubmaster. The Cubmaster supervises program delivery for the Scouts and, with the help of the Assistant Cubmasters, run the pack meetings. The Committee Chair supervises the business side of the pack and runs the Committee meetings and Pack Leader meetings.

The Den:

A den is a group of ideally six to eight boys all of the same rank, age or school year. Except for Tiger Dens, Wolf, Bear and Webelos Dens are led by a Den Leader and Assistant Den Leader. A Boy Scout, known as a Den Chief, may also work with your son’s den. Dens meet regularly on various days and times of the week (determined by parents) during the school year. Dens meet at school, at one of the family’s homes, the local Scout house, or at some other place.

The Ranks:


No matter what age or grade a boy joins Cub Scouts; he must earn his Bobcat badge before he can advance to the rank of Tiger Cub, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos. A boy must complete the Bobcat requirements, which include demonstrating his understanding of Scouting's core values. He must be able to recite the Cub Scout Promise, Law of the Pack, and motto and demonstrate the Cub Scout sign, handshake, and salute. He must also explain what each of these ideals means, in addition to demonstrating his understanding of the core values of honesty and trustworthiness, and explaining their importance.

 Tiger Cubs

To begin his path to the Tiger Cub rank, the Tiger Cub (age 7, completed kindergarten or in first grade) must learn the Cub Scout promise, the Cub Scout sign, and the Cub Scout salute. When he has accomplished these tasks, he will be awarded his Tiger Cub immediate recognition emblem (left). This is a tiger paw with four strands for beads that he wears on the right pocket.

As a boy completes each part of the achievements, he will be awarded either an orange (den activities), white (family activities), or black ("Go See It") bead. When the boy has earned five beads of each color, he is eligible to receive his Tiger Cub badge.

Each Tiger Cub Parent is considered an Adult Partner, participating in activities and sharing in the leadership of the den. The Tiger Cub program is a simple and fun introduction to the excitement of Cub Scouting as the boys and their adult partners fulfill the Tiger Cub motto of "Search, Discover, and Share."


The Wolf rank is for boys who have completed first grade (or who are 8 years old). To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass 12 achievements involving simple physical and mental skills. His parent or guardian approves each achievement by signing his book. When all requirements are satisfied, the Wolf badge is presented at a pack meeting or banquet.

After he has earned the Wolf badge, a boy is encouraged to work on the 22 Wolf electives until he completes second grade (or turns 9 years old). More than 100 elective projects are aimed at kindling his interest in new hobbies, as well as teaching him skills that will be useful during his Boy Scout years. When he completes 10 elective projects, he earns a Gold Arrow Point to wear under the Wolf badge. For each additional 10 elective projects completed, he earns a Silver Arrow Point.

Leadership also changes at this level, with a Den Leader and Assistant Den Leader, displaying a Scouting cornerstone of two-deep leadership. While Wolf Scouts no longer have Adult Partners with them all the time, parents are still welcomed and encouraged to attend den meetings with their child.


The Bear rank is for boys who have completed second grade (or are 9 years old). There are 24 Bear achievements in four categories: God, Country, Family, and Self. Boys must complete 12 of the 24 in order to earn the Bear badge. These requirements are more difficult and challenging than those for the Wolf badge. When the boy has earned his Bear badge, he may work on electives for credit toward Arrow Points to be worn under the Bear badge.


Webelos dens are for boys who are in fourth and fifth grade (completed third grade or reached age 10). The word Webelos stands for "We’ll Be Loyal Scouts" as this 18 month program is designed to transition Scouts from the adult-led Cub Scouting concept to the youth-led Boy Scouting concept. Although there is still a two-deep den leadership model, boys begin taking on leadership responsibilities.

The Webelos den program is different from the Cub Scout den program. The Webelos den program is based on 20 Webelos activities, broken into 5 categories: Physical Skills, Mental Skills, Community, Technology and Outdoor Activity.

Webelos Scouts work on requirements during their den meetings. Once the boy learns the skill, he practices it at den meetings and at home on his own. The boy's family is encouraged to help him at home. Boys bring to den meetings completed or partially completed projects done at home to show others, as well as to be approved by the Webelos den leader. This sharing encourages a boy to do his best and helps to build his confidence and self-esteem.

When a boy has completed the requirements for an activity badge, the Webelos den leader or activity badge counselor, rather than a parent, approves most of the activity badges. Completion is signified by the presentation of the Activity Pin which can be worn on a hat or on Webelos Colors. Completing a prescribed series of activity badges, a Webelos can earn his rank badge.

In addition to earning individual activity pins, Webelos Scouts can earn the compass points emblem, which is awarded after earning seven activity badges. Metal compass points—east, west, north, and south—are awarded for each four additional activity badges earned.

The Experience:

From Pine Car Derbies to Camping, from Fishing to ‘Go See Its’ there is much to do in Scouting.  Expect your child to look forward to Den outings with his peers learning about the world around us in an age appropriate setting and taking pride in himself, as well as a time honored tradition.  The goal of Cub Scouting is to have fun and learn at the same time. A Cub Scout gets satisfaction from meeting challenges, having friends, feeling good about himself, and feeling he is important to other people. Cub Scouts learn new things, discover and master new skills, gain self-confidence, and develop strong friendships

The Next Steps:

Cub Scouts can truly be a wonderful experience for all involved.  If you are interested in learning more please read the attached Parent Guide.  For more information about joining please click the 'Contact Us' link in the left pane and include your child's name, age, and grade as well as your contact information.


Pack191ParentGuide.pdf1.23 MB